NotJackedJack

Question about steel rods in arms

I've been talking to a guy who says he is willing to transform his body. Right now, he says he currently has up to 10 pound weights. They are a little light, but he can't get anything heavier at the moment (for various reasons). What concerns me the most regarding his growth is that he says that 10 is pushing the limits for a singular arm. One of forearms has steel rods from when it was broken a long time ago. Obviously, I want a guy of with huge muscles and he says it can be done with enough work, but I'd like to hear others' input and experiences. 

I'm neither a medical person nor an athlete. My understanding of the body and bodybuilding is limited. In theory, anything is possible with enough work. But how much of a limiting factor are steel rods?

I'm not a medical professional either, so don't take this as official medical advice.  But metal rods, screws, etc. are typically used when fractures are too complex for the bones to be set properly using a simple external cast.  The rods, etc. are surgically implanted to hold the bone pieces in the proper position while they heal, and are often left in place.  But the key thing is, once the bones are fully healed, they are as strong as new, just as with any other broken bone.  I very much doubt the presence of your friend's rods would be a limiting factor in the amount of strength he could build.  That said, depending on the details, they may cause pain, limit the range of motion, etc., but basic strength shouldn't be affected, and it's not like he's going to break a rod.  (Your friend should check with his doctor, of course, but that's the way these things generally work.)